Ajman Cricket Council clinch victory in UAE Cricket Leagues Women’s T20 tournament 2018 / 2019

- Ajman CC and Abu Dhabi CC faced-off in the final -
- Sharjah CC and Dubai CC battled it out in the 3rd and 4th place play-offs -
- League saw representative teams from Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai and Sharjah compete for the title -
- League acts as integral selection seeder for upcoming UAE Women’s Tours -

UAE, Abu Dhabi, Tuesday, December 4th, 2018: Ajman Cricket Council claimed victory over Abu Dhabi CC to hold aloft the trophy in Emirates Cricket Board’s UAE Cricket Leagues Women’s T20 tournament (2018 / 2019).

Played November 28th through to December 2nd, teams represented Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, and Sharjah in the 5-day tournament.

Ajman CC defeated Abu Dhabi CC by 10 wickets, where Ajman openers, Captain Esha Oza and Kavisha Kumari, put on a stunning display with the bat to score the highest partnership of the tournament (141 runs) and assist their team in downing Abu Dhabi in what was a tightly contested final’s match.

Third and fourth place play-offs saw Sharjah CC defeat Dubai CC to round out the tournament, and conclude their campaign on a high. Sharjah Captain, Humaira Tasneem’s ‘Captain’s Knock’ saw her top score with a well-played 62 (not out).

Waleed Bukhatir, UAE Cricket Board Member and Chief Selector commented; “We are very encouraged with the quality of Cricket that was played by our ladies over the 5 days, and we are exceptionally pleased with the level of professionalism and commitment shown by each player, their respective teams, and the Councils. We are very grateful for their collective support of the tournament.” “Our development team now has very defined, quantifiable analytics on each player, which will assist in our selection process,” added Bukhatir.

As well as identifying, and awarding the best Women’s T20 team in the Emirates, the tournament will play an integral role in selection of the UAE Women’s team that will compete in the upcoming UAE Women’s Tours of T20 Smash (Thailand – January 2019), and the ICC Women’s World T20 Asia Qualifiers (February 2019) .