Bukhatir XI lift Junoon Cup Season 1

Ajman, Feb 2, 2018: The huge final of Junoon Cup Season 1 was played between two major teams of UAE’s domestic cricket, Bukhatir XI & Multiplex International. Bukhatir XI turned out victorious against Multiplex International by 5 wickets in final to be crowned champions of Junoon Cup Season 1 which was organized by Abdullah Azhar under the auspices of Ajman Cricket Council with title sponsor Luxe Maison Realty & RSM Gears. The chief guest for Junoon Cup final was Mr. Mazhar Khan, honorary secretary of Sharjah Cricket Council and Mr. Shahzad Altaf, Ajman Cricket Council.

Elected to bat first, Multiplex lost the wicket of inform batsman, Waqas Raja, when Muhammad Asaf of Bukhatir XI got his crucial wicket. Gopa Kumar, Bukhatir XI, managed to get another wicket of Multiplex’s big fish, Balwinder Singh, in the 3rd over of the game.

Multiplex International’s middle ordered managed to add runs on the board; however, they lost wickets on regular intervals. Multiplex skipper, Mohammad Yasir Ali, came to the rescue for Multiplex by scoring 49 runs off 34 balls with 3 fours and 4 sixes before Gopa Kumar got his wicket for Bukhatir. Haroon Ahmed, Multiplex, looked sharp as he added 67 runs off 35 balls with 6 fours and 5 sixes before he was run out in the 19th over of the innings.

Multiplex managed to score a total of 183 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Gopa Kumar was the star with the ball for Bukhatir XI – he bowled 3 overs took 2 wickets and gave 33 runs.

Having to chase a big total in the final, Jiju Janardhanan of Bukhatir managed to score 17 runs off 11 balls with 2 fours and 1 six before Mubashir Ahmed got his wicket for Multiplex. Khalid Shah, Bukhatir XI, scored a stable 24 runs off 16 balls with 2 fours and 1 six. In form batsman, Rizwan CP of Bukhatir XI, scored 35 runs off 26 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes before Zubair Khan got his crucial wicket in Bukhatir XI’s run chase. Bukhatir XI skipper & UAE player, Adnan Mufti only managed to score 12 runs off 17 balls with no boundaries before he lost his wicket in the 12th over of the game. Big fish, Gopa Kumar got out on a golden duck putting Bukhatir XI in a tight position in this crucial chase in the final.

Two main players of Bukhatir XI came to their rescue, took responsibility and finished the game for Bukhatir XI in style. Syed Badi scored crucial 52 runs off 27 balls with 5 fours and 3 enormous sixes carrying his bat for Bukhatir XI. Gujarat Lions & UAE player, Chirag Suri, was put in a spot to take responsibility and finish the game for Bukhatir and he managed to do that with the support of Syed Badi. Chirag Suri scored a blistering total of 42 runs off just 18 balls with 5 beautiful fours and 2 gigantic sixes. Chirag Suri & Syed Badi managed to score a partnership of 90 runs helping Bukhatir XI to the win.

Bukhatir XI chased down their target and scored a total of 187 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in just 19.2 overs. Bukhatir XI clicked as a unit & were crowned the champions of Junoon Cup Season 1.
What an outstanding final it was as both teams fought with their all to win the final and become the champions. After a great final, it was time to wrap up Junoon Cup Season 1.

Man of the Match - Syed Badi (Bukhatir XI) scoring 52 runs off 27 balls with 5 fours & 3 sixes carrying his bat through the innings.

Man of the Series – Rizwan CP (Bukhatir XI)

Best Batsmen of the Tournament – Syed Maqsood (Mir CC)

Best Bowler of the Tournament – Asif Mumtaz (Alubond Tigers)